How will my existing content look?
Your current content should look the same as it did before. If you edit an existing post or page in the new editor, all the content will be placed in a “Classic Block,” which will treat it the same way that the previous editor did.
Why are my updates not showing in the editor
Sometimes updates need to be viewed after you hit the “update” or “publish” button. For example, you can update your hero image in the editor but the default/previous image will still display in your edit screen. It has been accepted but the editor will not display it until you finalize that update on the right hand, save, side of the edit screen.
Why doesn’t my content look the same in the editor and on the site?
You may see some variation between your content in the editor and on the site, largely because of the way your chosen theme displays different visual elements. Some themes will include styles to help the editor look more like the front of the site; others will not.
Will I still be able to use the old editor?
The block editor will still allow you to use “Classic Block,” but the publishing experience will be moving to the new editor layout moving forward.
Do shortcodes still work?
Yes. The editor comes with a shortcode block, which you can use for shortcodes. In the future, most shortcodes will become their own blocks. Half have been converted to blocks, including testimonials, button, property, form, and column shortcodes.
How are my colors chosen in the editor?
Black, grey, white, and your branding colors are available. You’ll see the primary, button, and link colors all with a darker and lighter variation included. You must update those colors to change those within the editor. This will help keep your branding and colors consistent and help your rapport with site visitors. Learn how to update colors here
Do I need to use a particular DESIGN for the new editor?
No. The new block editor will work with all the Carrot site styles and designs.
WHY WON’T MY UPDATES SHOW ON THE PREVIEW OR IN THE EDITOR?
There are a few bugs within the preview and editor that need to be sorted. For example, when the hero image is updated on the page, it will show once the update button is clicked. However, it will not show on the editor until that time. Our team is working on a fix to ensure all items and blocks have real-time updates. Most are available immediately, with a few remaining to be solved.
WHY DID SOME OF MY PAGES CHANGE WHEN I CONVERTED TO BLOCKS?
Carrot’s new visual editor and the classic editor differ and we were unable to make a straight copy over when you hit the option to “convert to blocks.” This is particularly notable with the shortcode items (bracketed details [ ]). The shortcodes at the beginning of paragraphs and images are placed in a shortcode block. We have noticed this is particularly applicable when converting the company page and the company shortcode is moved to its own line. The home page’s image caption also separates because the caption is a shortcode on the backend. You’ll want to remove the shortcode block and replace those items within the new paragraph and image blocks.
Can I convert or transform my blocks, such as a heading to a paragraph?
Most blocks can be transformed into another type of block. For example, you can take paragraph blocks and transform them to a list block. Carrot has three custom blocks that can not be transformed and the elements within them can not be transformed. These blocks include the Hero block, Card block, and Credibility Bar block. They are specific to the Carrot platform and would need to be used as-is, though some elements can be completely removed, such as headings removed within the hero block.
You can transform the block by clicking the block then using the transform option on the top left of the settings bar.
how do i see my page after editing it?
To view your page, you’ll want to click the “Document” link on the sidebar settings. Then open the permalink selection and click the second link that reads the URL for that page.
What is the advanced html anchor setting?
This option is available on all blocks within the editor and is the last option on the sidebar settings. It is used by developers for custom markup.